ASQA extends transition periods for qualifications

The Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) recently approved an extended transition period for 51 qualifications due to expire between 17 March and 15 July 2020.

Due to COVID-19 pandemic, ASQA has now decided to expand this decision and extend the transition period of a further 90 superseded qualifications by six months.

The extensions include qualifications from the following Training Packages:

  • AVI Aviation
  • CSC Correctional Services
  • PUA Public Safety
  • POL Police
  • NWP National Water
  • UET Transmission, Distribution and Rail

View the full list of the affected qualifications with the revised transition end dates noted.

The relevant qualifications will remain on RTOs scope of registration until the end of the extended transition period, unless the RTO chooses to withdraw it from scope prior.

ASQA and the higher education regulator, TEQSA, have also jointly agreed to be more flexible in dealing with training and assessment requirements in the current environment.